You are here

2010 municipal election results

By Ken Johnston

√ indicates elected
*indicates incumbent

Rainy River
Voter turnout: 40% (273 of
possible 681)
Mayor: √*Deb Ewald was acclaimed
Council: Four to be elected
√Larry Armstrong 171 votes
√Ashley Stamler 153 votes
√*Brent Anderson 143 votes
√*Gord Armstrong 128 votes
Susan Carpenter 107 votes
Wes Blight 94 votes
Ed Tymkin 86 votes
Gerry Marchuk 82 votes

Public School Board
√Dianne McCormack 387 votes
Michelle Abraham 213 votes

Lake of the Woods
Voter turnout 58.8%
For Reeve:
√*Valerie Pizey 254 votes
Gerald Fisk 111 votes

For Council:
Four to be elected
√*Colleen Fadden 203 votes
√Glenn Anderson 184 votes
√Bill Lundgren 181 votes
*Nancy Gate 178 votes tie for 4th
*JoAnn Moen 178 votes tie for 4th
Rockford Moen 163 votes
April Chojko-Bolec 98 votes
*Tony Sepers 81 votes
Adrienne Olson 68 votes
Hugh O’Hare 30 votes
In the event of a tie as is the case for the fourth seat here. Usually there is a recount and in the past a name was drawn from a hat if the tie still exists.

Dawson Township will have a new Reeve. √*Eltjo Wiersema who is a newcomer to council was acclaimed.
For Council
Four to be elected
√Brenda Jodoin 143 votes
√*Aime Desaulniers 116 votes
√*Bennett Drennan 114 votes
√*Archie Wiersema 102 votes
*Linda Armstrong 99 votes
For the second election in a row, no one had filed to run for Reeve of Morley Township. The new council will decide who will be Reeve once their term begins.

For Council all candidates were acclaimed.
√Moe Henry
√*George Heyens
√*Maury Nielson
√*Bill Romyn
For Separate School Board:
√*Mark Chojko-Bolec 60 votes
Roseanne Zimmerman 56 votes

In Chapple Twp. there will only be an election in Ward 4. The rest were acclaimed.
They are:

For Reeve:
√Peter Van Heyst
Ward 1: √Ken Wilson
Ward 2: √*Rilla Rice
Ward 3: √*James Gibson
Ward 4:
One to be elected
√*Rick Neilson 13 votes
Murray Gerula 6 votes